I'm a young aspiring photographer that has a sweet tooth for HDR photography.

U-505

The U-505 exhibit at the Chicago Museum of Science and Industry is truly remarkable.  This U boat is one of five remaining from WWII worldwide with U-505 being the only one ever captured (and in one piece) during WWII.  We took a tour of this boat to get a perspective of what it was like to live on it.  The space was sparse.  It was hot and humid, I couldn’t even begin to imagine what it was like during war time.  And did I mention it was really really cramp in there?  Even though we were able to get a taste of what it was like on the U-505 during its time at sea, it was just a small bite.  I couldn’t imagine being down 200 meters under the sea surface with the body heat of a 100 other men while having a destroyer dropping depth charges on you.  It is a scary scary thought.

I hope everyone had a great weekend!

 

5 responses

  1. Great detail and stellar DoF!

    June 27, 2011 at 7:58 am

  2. Sweet shot Adam – I love the DOF! I’ve been in one US Navy WWII era sub and I couldn’t image being stuck in that small of a space for very long either!

    June 27, 2011 at 8:24 am

  3. Love it. Nice perspective!

    June 27, 2011 at 8:24 am

  4. Awesome DoF! It’s been awhile since I visited that museum!

    June 27, 2011 at 12:50 pm

  5. Awesome shot.. It looks so tiny.. 🙂 Not my idea of a good time at sea.

    June 27, 2011 at 1:53 pm

Leave a Reply

