I'm a young aspiring photographer that has a sweet tooth for HDR photography.

Down the Alley

So this is my first image to use textures with.  I’m not a huge fan of textures but people such as Heath O’Fee and Chris Kenison are starting to convince me otherwise.  They have done some pretty nice stuff with texture, so go check them out!  When textures are done right (this image is a bad example) they can be pretty cool I must say.  This being my first, I was pretty timid with the textures.  I really just wanted to add a little more to the concrete and even less to the brick walls.  I don’t think it turned out too bad, but I’m not sure.  Give me your thoughts.  What do you use for textures?

 

8 responses

  1. Nice and moody shot. I feel like Batman should be lingering around somewhere 😉

    June 24, 2011 at 8:08 am

  2. Great image Adam! I’m not a big fan of textures either but like you I’ve been seeing them used in so many creative ways that I’m thinking of trying it out.

    June 24, 2011 at 9:19 am

  3. Yeah, I LOVE this shot. The texture is nice, but not sure if it’s needed. I tend to use it if I have a boring part of the image, like blue skies, etc.

    This works either way though on this image I think.

    June 24, 2011 at 12:10 pm

  4. I dig the texture overlay – it almost looks like a reflection in water, so cool!

    June 24, 2011 at 12:20 pm

  5. Like the shot but again not a big textures fan. I feel it works well on the walls not sure on the concrete

    June 25, 2011 at 5:22 am

  6. Love this shot man, I really like the feeling that the texture created. Maybe brush out the area in the bottom so it has a little less opacity. Love this shot though man, awesome work!

    June 26, 2011 at 11:09 pm

  7. Pingback: Friday Photo Spots & Puffalump | The Perfect Sunset

  8. Awesome shot, man!
    The textures work well in this image. Sweet!

    July 1, 2011 at 7:12 am

Leave a Reply

