I'm a young aspiring photographer that has a sweet tooth for HDR photography.

Giant Mosquito

Today’s image is another of the giant bugs in the local botanical gardens.  Like I said yesterday, I really wasn’t sure what to expect out of these.  When I first heard that the gardens was going to put bugs around the grounds, something really really tacky came to my mind.  I was pleasantly surprised when I laid my eyes on the sculptures for the first time.  I just did some more research on them, and the artist is David Roger.  He is based out of New York and sculpts the over sized insects by hand using many types of different materials.  I guess this exhibit travels all over the U.S.  You can learn more about Dave and his work on his website, www.big-bugs.com.  What a fitting name!

I did some experimenting with image and its processing.  I was trying to go for a nuclear/fall out look.  You know, that some nuclear waste created these giant bugs.  What do you think?

6 responses

  1. I am currently questioning someones sanity for wanting to reproduce the most annoying bug on earth. I sure hope there is a giant spider waiting to eat this guy 😉

    May 11, 2011 at 7:37 am

  2. Hahah – I’m with Chris!

    May 11, 2011 at 9:33 am

  3. Didn’t realize that their mouth sucking thing is that long compared to the rest of it. No wonder they’re so good at biting!

    May 11, 2011 at 9:55 am

  4. Nice POV. Cool shot.

    May 11, 2011 at 10:05 am

  5. The only thing that would make this creepier is if it had a gas mask on…

    May 11, 2011 at 10:36 am

  6. Nice capture of some creative and obviously hard work by the artist.

    Someone should create a huge can of insect repellant to place in the area. 🙂

    May 11, 2011 at 6:17 pm

Leave a Reply

