I'm a young aspiring photographer that has a sweet tooth for HDR photography.

Attack of the Ants!

RUN THEY’RE COMING FOR US!!!  AHHHHHH!!!!

I couldn’t resist, but on serious note.  The local botanical gardens in Ames, Reiman Gardens, is a gorgeous place to walk around during the spring.  Recently started a tradition of having interesting themes placed throughout the gardens.  Last year it was gnomes all over, this year it is giant bugs.  I mean these guys are all super sized!  This ant is about 7-8 feet tall and 15 feet long.  It just so happens that my fiancé and I will be tying the knot at Reiman in less then a month!  Where we originally planned on walking down the aisle they placed a giant praying mantis.  I thought it would be cool to have him in the background of our wedding photos, but unfortunately my soon to be wife didn’t.  I honestly think all of these bugs are seriously cool and well done.  They are actually tasteful in the gardens.  Who would have thought?

10 responses

  1. Dude, if she rules out the Praying Mantis, I’d track down a scorpion for a backup plan! Great shot and I love the zoom affect.

    May 10, 2011 at 8:17 am

    • ha ha! They’re sculpting him as I type.

      May 10, 2011 at 3:34 pm

  2. Wow, if I saw that I’d probably freak out. Great shot!

    May 10, 2011 at 9:58 am

  3. All I have to say is holy crap.

    May 10, 2011 at 10:47 am

  4. Kinda freaky. love it!

    May 10, 2011 at 11:21 am

  5. Really sweet effect you got there. I bet that’s a cool thing to see.

    May 10, 2011 at 12:26 pm

  6. Great effect with the radial blur. Reiman gardens is just beautiful!

    May 10, 2011 at 5:05 pm

  7. LadyGrey

    Did you get a shot of the Mantis?! I was expecting this to be metal but it’s not – nice surprise! You could incorporate the “bugs” into your wedding shots after the fact. Then you both can eat cake. 😉 Happy Day!

    May 11, 2011 at 6:30 am

  8. Love the blur on the outside. What is this made out of? I also love the fact that you wanted this in the background of your wedding shots. I see nothing wrong with that 😉

    May 11, 2011 at 6:42 am

  9. Wow it feels like its in motion, great shot.

    May 11, 2011 at 8:07 pm

Leave a Reply

