I'm a young aspiring photographer that has a sweet tooth for HDR photography.

Power Silhouettes

Today’s post is of a couple reprocessed images I took while on my internship.  We were doing this because of the construction of a wind turbine field with over 100 new turbines in it.  I was put in charge of taking a measuring pole and touching over one hundred power lines.  Then I was to record the height of every single one that crossed a road.  Each line had to be measured to make sure the trucks bringing in the new energy producer would fit underneath them.  It was actually a really peaceful week being in the middle of nowhere.  The area was 36 square miles, mostly on country gravel roads.  I rarely ran into anyone; it was just me, the buzzing power lines, and my radio.  Oh!  And of course my camera.  One day when I was done, I came across the edge of another wind turbine field.  So naturally I had to get some shots of these mammoth machines.  These two are the best of the bunch I believe.  Honestly, I couldn’t decide which one I liked better.  I like pieces of both.  So I’ll let you decide for me.

9 responses

  1. Cindi

    They are both great, but I like the top one best because of the grass in the foreground. Very nice Adam!

    April 20, 2011 at 8:14 am

  2. These are both great pictures, I like the bottom one because there’s more empty space and it makes it look more peaceful. Great job Adam.

    April 20, 2011 at 8:58 am

  3. Great shots! I think I like the first one because of the grass. So were those things moving when you were there? Standing under those things, you can feel a Woomph! in your bones… It’s kinda strange.

    April 20, 2011 at 10:02 am

  4. I like how the line of turbines goes off into the distance in the second picture. Plus silhouettes are always a good choice.

    April 20, 2011 at 10:35 am

  5. Awesome shots!

    April 20, 2011 at 10:55 am

  6. Nice comp bud. I would have to go with the first one as my favorite. Like having the whole wind turbine in the shot.

    April 20, 2011 at 12:32 pm

  7. Love them both! I like the low perspective with the grass in the first and the line of turbines in the second.

    April 20, 2011 at 2:28 pm

  8. Thanks guys for the comments and feedback!

    April 20, 2011 at 5:48 pm

  9. Live ’em both, wouldn’t mind seeing more.

    April 22, 2011 at 12:35 pm

Leave a Reply

