I'm a young aspiring photographer that has a sweet tooth for HDR photography.

Don’t Fall In!

Wednesday afternoon I was driving down to Ames, Iowa to visit my fiancée.  I decided to leave a little early so I could explore some back roads to see what I find interesting.  It was a very successful little journey I had.  Except for the fact of almost getting my car stuck on the way to an abandoned house, that story is to come with some photos.  I also came across a REALLY run down park just outside of Gladbrook, Iowa.  The main park building was built back in 1920 by George Conants, who the park is named after.  This was my first time taking photos of an abandoned location.  Now I know why people really love shooting these types of subjects.  I’m hooked!  I am really excited to continue the processing.

Behind the main building are a couple outhouses that, as you can see, are out of service.  I didn’t want to get too close to the building, afraid that I would fall into a dark pit of misery.  I was able to catch this shot and some other neat detail photos.

I hope you all have a great St. Paddy’s Day!

3 responses

  1. Adam, cool shot, lots of detail – I think the portrait crop works really well too. Nice!

    March 18, 2011 at 2:58 pm

  2. Strong shot Adam. I look forward to seeing what comes out of that park.

    March 18, 2011 at 7:27 pm

  3. Sweet shot man. I love the details and textures!

    March 21, 2011 at 3:38 pm

Leave a Reply

